h1

Traveling While Black :: Brazil Is For Everyone!

May 3, 2007

After having traveled a little bit through other countries in SA, I must say that Brazil is a very easy country for a Black girl such as myself to be in. Which is probably why I have run into more Black Americans while here than White Americans (which never fucking happens to me I must say. If I see one I do such a happy dance you would think I never saw melanin in my life). You aren´t hassled as if you are a tourist (therefore rich) and people don´t automatically assume that you are poor and a thief or just the scum of the fucking earth in general. As long as you don´t open your mouth noone assumes that you are anything other than an ordinary Brazilian. So I can walk the streets here and people don´t pay any attention to me. In Argentina women would look at me and clutch their bags tighter after making comments about thieving Brazilians (I do in fact speak a little Spanish and I understand much more than you could imagine tiny Argentinian lady!) and in Chile all conversation would stop as they stared me down the street. Brazil is such a relief after feeling like a leper for the past couple of months.

Having said that, that could be said about any race of people in Brazil just about. There are locals that look like they just got off the plane from Norway, Nigeria, Japan, Mexico, Germany, and every other country that you could imagine, not to mention everyone who falls in that infamous Brazilian “in between” (i.e. mulatto) category. Brazil for everyone! Come have a caipirinha!

I must say this is the easiest country I´ve traveled to so far, and they are pretty used to seeing us as well. I swear if one more doorman asked me if I was working for the students upstairs (that I was in fact living with because I too was a student) I was gonna lose my damn mind. I love Brazil. If only they didn´t speak this weird ass Portuguese I´d move to this wonderland.

2 comments

  1. weird ass portuguese?
    it’s the most beautiful language in the world.

    people from Argentina are disgunting.
    Brazilians hate argentines.


  2. Do some part of brazil speak Yoruba



Leave a Reply

